Physical Reactivity

For many folks physical activity is defined solely by daily life routine. Limitations on mobility or any of our five senses, including natural bodily changes of later life constantly challenge us to reincorporate physical activity in new and different ways. During a summer of rehabilitation from a leg injury I had the luxury of working out in a good friend’s pool. I must admit there was a special beauty to days of rain or unusual summer coolness when I had that arena all to myself and was happy to indulge in it alone for hours. Having to focus on body awareness and improvement as a path for healing from an illness can be a temporary necessity, but it opened my eyes as to just how easily it can become either an isolating or habitual narcissistic manner of daily life. I was aware that several folks coordinated their swim times together just as many now meet up for daily runs, walks, or bike rides. This recent boom in group recreational awareness is one way to keep up the team aspect of physical play long after the body may not be able to participate in more demanding team sports, and I still believe that the family that plays together stays together. Now that I am continuing to create a healthier body through vegetarianism, Qi Gong and Tai Chi, the next step is to rejoin whatever new midlife family I’m destined to play with. Life is such a crazy dance itself that I feel stronger than ever that the only way to survive is to continue to dance through it. This was, is, and always will be the only new years resolution you’ll ever find me shaping around physical activity. Anybody for push hands, tango for two, or a stomp around tribal drums ?

 

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

