Idealism in Flight

Just like the timespans before and after assassinations of beings who have served as beacons of great hope, the lighthouse of idealism that flashes for the human race holds it’s moments of stillness, the darkness of void, the “half empty” glass into which some fall and never emerge. Three years of unemployment, ill health, groping thru the darkness of one’s own confusion; of draining resources, time and patience from friends and family can certainly lead one towards the glass half empty perspective.I find instead that my own idealism has simply taken a break for an indeterminate time. I’d prefer to say I have simply turned an empty glass upside down on the bar of life and signaled to the server enough already. In times like these a kite seems a more apt metaphor for idealism than the glass half full. A fully energized kite remains connected to the earth, preferably via another mobile object like one of us. Although limited in flight pattern and distance the dance of a high flying kite is anything but fettered or lacking in power. Who really wants to see the kite break free and sail off into the sunset only to end up dashed on the rocks in a soggy, splintered mess? That’s never been my picture of life’s idealistic flight.I like to think that  Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. learned exactly how to use his full power of idealism as defined by it’s earthly limitations. That such noble idealism can exist within such tightly held reins is enough proof for me to continue to strive to keep idealism alive and well. In 2014 may we all have the wind beneath our high flying ideals, and any kite makers out there needing an apprentice, I’m ready 🙂

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Preparing for My Soulmate. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Idealism in Flight

  1. dreamingmoon says:

    what I could use even more is a wordpress tutor, which is really why I no longer write….witness the attempt at italicizing one word and having it stuck in italics for the whole ending. Us typewriter dinosaurs can’t function with a machine that has it’s own mind about how it wants to write.

Leave a Reply

