Thanksgiving Address

This holiday address goes out in gratitude to all the folks I’ve been lucky enough to meet on the job these last three months. It’s been a wild ride with the simultaneous election antics and more than a few doors have been opened in my mind by all that’s been shared. Our presidential election four years ago brought hope to many for a new chance to shatter walls of segregation and come together in unified strength. What has begun to dawn on me is how our “must haves” seem to be the final bricks in the walls that separate us. Just as certain limitations in my skills and abilities have made it obvious of late that someone else would be better suited for my workplace position, any experience which spotlights limitations is like a red flag to the initiation of segregation because it signals “must haves” at the starting line. With our Thanksgiving gratitude for what we already have comes heightened awareness of what we don’t and what we believe to be those pared down essential “must haves.” Whether it is white skin, Christian grace, “good work ethic”, or even just “pet friendly attitude” or “Microsoft Word experience” the real criminality is in our insistence on these preexisting qualifications. Our desire for instant fulfillment of these “fast food” cravings is what shatters our global family table gathering. It is not the education, knowledge, product, or even “good deed” itself that enriches us, it’s the process of working together to teach, heal, and enlighten one another along the way. For this Thanksgiving my prayers for all will turn towards discovering our deeper, more subtle paths to desegregation and asking what do you think will help change your world ??? Show me your chosen dance steps and the journey will BE the destination…LOVE…

 

 

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

