Social Contact

Social contact is a whole different ball game now than 20 years ago. The navigations of social contact have exploded exponentially with new technology. Juggling match ups between social butterflys/hermits and all varying degrees of combinations between whom may define today’s couples now includes balancing newly expanded rosters of online/wireless social contacts. I have yet to experience the fulltime repercussions of this new social media in a comitted relationship. Sacred space (or one’s comfort zone/privacy) is a priority concern for me. I couldn’t imagine being in a life partnership that didn’t respect some type of “off limits” zone for casual social contacts. Chatting, whether online, on cell phone, or in the flesh on location anywhere is still focused time spent with the other party. As such it necessitates established parameters of when, where, what, how and why within every couples daily life. I subscribe to the adage “a few good friends will suffice”, and any other peripheral social contacts I enjoy tend to be connected to artistic, creative, spiritual, or natural environs. The contemporary social networking concept of accumulating “friends” strictly as a numbers game has no appeal to me, nor does the use of others as stepping stones for social or vocational climbing. On the other hand, diversity makes the world go round and keeps life and any long-term committed relationship from going stale. Unique, interesting and compassionate folks of any cultural/societal ilk will always have my ear. The very use of this WordPress platform for my own social search within this 16 blog series on “Finding My Soulmate”(of which this topic counts as#13 ) begs consideration of the influence of technological integration into our social lives. We can only have faith and trust that it will produce positive outcomes. If it eventually finds audience from my soulmate, I’ll praise it’s due.

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

