Independence

   You’d expect a single mom of over twenty years to be able to wax eloquent on Independence; #8 of the 16 litmus tests of this soulmate search. What I’ve really learned during this solo journey is that independence doesn’t actually exist. Even within the word’s own dichotomy we find it’s polarity: In-dependence. Interdependence or codependence, both of which have recently taken on negative connotations in a way similar to Idealism, are not qualities I think we can/should  erase from relationships. Why then would anyone with dreams of cooperative communal interaction choose life as a hermit? The answer lies on the stage where teamwork is played out. More often it is powered by the well masked: Trade Equally Antagonistic Mockeries, as opposed to Together Everyone Achieves More. I’ve experienced both often, and when I encounter the former I tend to exit. I am always reminded though that when we stomp off declaring “I just gotta be me!” good luck to us all, for we still drag the world along for the ride on our pant legs (or skirt hems).  I do agree that every person needs a certain amount of autonomy to function within their highest potential and that reaching that highest potential be a primary interest of both parties one for another. Tripping over compromise and cooperation along the way is just part of slowly achieving a balance of both in a manner suitable to all. Any real hermit ( a la Merlyn) knows that no one who breathes our universal element of air can ever claim complete independence of any other living thing. The choice to walk away is simply a decision by the hen of where to lay it’s egg. Today I choose to march forth to the favorite phrase of a treasured teacher: “…just keep dancing….”

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

