Status

Status is the topic I’d like to introduce on the heels of last week’s pre-Presidents Day blog on Power, as we often find the two hand in hand. The personal importance each partner places on the acquisition or assignation of these two positions can be revealing for couples compatibilty. Who, what or where we choose to ascribe power and status reflects some of our deepest core values in action. Status (or power for that matter) gained purely through financial superiority or marketed visibilty is rife in our society, but I’ve never bought into it’s ubiquitous conscription. Unfortunately, as every President who has ever attained office can probably attest, both status and power are usually endowed in a highly reciprocal fashion between peers. No matter how worthy one believes their future visions are, if those around you decide to prioritize status and power elsewhere those plans will be hard to realize. Although the road to building larger, wider community based impact is guaranteed to be steeper, longer and more winding than that of simpler, more self-serving interest, I would throw in my lot with the humanitarian over the oligarch any day. I’ve never been impressed solely by status or power, although I’ve had chance to rub elbows with more than a few who lived within the walls of both. True power and status lie within those who use those gifts to reach out to other cultures, races, or classes through the reciprocity of time, energy, wisdom, and compassion. Status is by nature separatist, and those who have embraced the challenge to enrich the bigger world outside their own environs, or conditions that may be out of sight, are those I most admire and respect. They are the ones who hold this truth to be self evident: that ALL are created equal.

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

