Romance

For next week’s upcoming Valentine’s Day I’ve renovated my perspective on Romance;#5 of the 16 categories to be covered as a couples’ compatibilty review. I’ve already confessed to idealism ( in blog post under that title) so I’m sure revealing I’m a die hard romantic will be no surprise. That does not mean I am a romance novel fan. Within one page, those fantasies never seemed plausible even as fantasies. The tension between the sublimation of sex and the eventual ecstatically sublime sexual consummation found in most romance novels seems much less believable than that found in the fantasy genre of authors such as Diana Gabaldon and T.H. White. The desire to serve and support the growth of lover,family, and community is a romance that has no need of fancy packaging or theatrical extravagances.I’ve always been a bit wary of the traditional accoutrements of romance:candy, flowers,jewelry etc. It is the gifts that a quest such as the search for the healing Grail brings that indicate real devotion. The grail quest is a journey whose true gifts are presented by the journey itself, not the attainment of the destination.Big Romance is more likely to be found in the often unacknowledged acts of loyalty, protection, truth, and compromise. This is the romance I relish watching spring to life, born of a genuine intention to create and share beauty. There is no way for such a romance to fail, for even if it is rebuffed by the intended, it will always still be there for someone else to enjoy. Lit with colors and flame of fire or candle, steeped in aromas of incense or nature and surrounded by melodies of the ethereal or elemental, offer up the dance of Romance, and Have a Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

About dreamingmoon

I, Aurora Dreaming Moon am a Dreamer, Sister, Lover, Mother, Grandmother and sometime Writer, Poet, Artist, Musician...who at the age of 11 made my first conscious choice to seek the path of Truth by throwing a yarrow stick reading for my youthfully petulant demand of : "Tell me the purpose of life now or I'm out of here !" The spirits in all their wisdom and humour responded in kind with the complete changing hexagram : Ch'ien to K'un which I interpreted to mean "...a complete understanding of the universe ". Thus appropriately chastised, though laughingly mollified and defeated in my attempt at an easy way out, I was lovingly set back on this never ending journey we call life. I am still trying to accomplish my assignment :) What you'll find in these blogs are just sharings of some of my most heartfelt experiences along the way. May they be of service to all reader pilgrims who cross this path.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Romance

  1. dreamingmoon says:

    Reblogged this on Finding My Soulmate and commented:

    Thanks Dad for the wisdom you left behind that has become my Romance Revisited ! ❤

Leave a Reply

